Configuration

Please note that this documentation applies to following apps:

  • Status History from version 2.1.0
  • Status History PRO

All functionalities available only in PRO version will be marked in here with a note (PRO).


  1. Log as an admin into your Jira instance.
  2. Click the admin drop-down and choose Add-ons.
  3. At left-side menu you will find Status History Plugin part with different options to configure it.

Each of configuration part refers to different options and settings:

  1. General part refers to overall settings for the plugin, eg. its appearance in the issue;
  2. Working time part refers to settings to calculate working time for each status and user for the issue;
  3. Permission part ensures that only selected users and user groups have the rights to see plugin for given issues (PRO);
  4. Projects part allows to set visibility of plugin only for selected projects (PRO).

In next chapters, you will find detailed descriptions of each settings part.

General part


Status Display

In default view, Status History contains both timeline and table with all information:

In case you wish to display only one of them, simply click on checkbox Do you want to configure display components? and choose appropriate option.

If you choose Status timeline, only timeline will be shown, without table:

If you choose Status table, only table will be shown, without timeline:

Statuses presentation

In default view, all statuses are shown as blue bars in context of user, with a length proportional to the status duration:

If you want to show dots in case of short-time statuses, please define Minimal time, from which they should appear like this. Dots are points in time, they don't show information about status duration - they are very useful when status and user changes are very often. Please take a look at below example, where Minimal time was set to 3 hours:

If you want to change bar color to red in case of exceeded statuses, please define Maximal time, after which they should appear in this way. You can use it to show which statuses exceeded their set duration. Please take a look at below example, where Maximal time was set to 4 days:


Please note that Minimal time and Maximal time refer to total time, not for working time of the issue.

Date and time presentation

You can choose appropriate date and time format, which will be displayed in Status table. Please take a look below at drop-down Date format:


Range of formats is typical to JIRA software. Default configuration for this plugin is JIRA. Please take a look below at Status table with date and time in JIRA format:



Next Status table shows date and time in format YYYY/MM/DD HH:mm:


Maximum issues (PRO)

In cases you want to reduce number of issues that can be analyzed by Status History Viewer, you can use this parameter and specify the maximum number of issues that can be used. After that, when user select data which will extend this setting, relevant information will be shown on the viewer screen.


Working time part

This is helpful, if you want to know how much working time was included in total duration of issue status. These settings are global, and you can't set it for given project separately.

Please remember that "working time" is not the time logged on each issue (from worklog) - it is duration of status during business hours.


At default, you will find below settings:

Using these settings, you won't find working time displayed for any issue.

If you want to see woking time, you have to click on checkbox Do you want to calculate working time? and after that configure working days and holidays.

You can switch on/off separate days, and set start and end hour for each day separately - see below example:

At default, on calendar you can see "today" marked on red. Holidays are switched on by clicking on them directly on calendar, then they are marked on green:


If you wish to cancel particular holiday, simply click on it and it will turn off.

Using arrows, you can change year of the calendar. If you click "TODAY", today's date wil turn red.


Permission part (PRO)

At default, all users and users group are authorised to see Status History plugin for each issue.

However, if you want to set some restrictions, please click on checkbox Do you want to use user and group permissions? and choose appropriate users/groups simply by writing letters from their names:

Please note that both fields are case sensitive.

After that, only selected groups and users will see Status History plugin in their issues.

Please remember that if you click checkbox, but you won't choose any group or user, no one will see plugin for issues.

Please also note that if you remove user or group from your Jira, you will also have to delete them from above configuration.


Projects part (PRO)

At default, all projects have Status History plugin turned on for all issues.

If you need to set restrictions and switch plugin only for selected projects, you can click on checkbox Do you want to use projects visibility? and choose projects from the list:

After that, only issues from selected projects will have Status History plugin enabled. Please note that you can filter this list (fields are case sensitive) or sort its colums, ascending or descending, and also scroll pages using Previous or Next.

Please remember that if you click on checkbox, but you won't choose any project, no one will be able to see plugin for issues.